Within The Garden of Earthly Delights

Feature Show
Within The Garden of Earthly Delights
Opening Friday, 5 April 2019, 6–8pm
Exhibition runs 6 – 24 April 2019
Outré Gallery, 249 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne

An allegory of the divine and the mortal. A fecund, paradisiacal landscape. A panorama of unbridled, rapturous delight. A cacophony of tortured souls and eternal damnation. Welcome to the Garden of Earthly Delights.

Outré Gallery is proud to be presenting Within The Garden of Earthly Delights, a group show paying homage to Hieronymus Bosch and one of his most iconic artworks. With a line-up of over 30 international artists, this show is sure to be a feast for the senses.

Hieronymus Bosch’s most acclaimed artwork, The Garden of Earthly Delights, is a seminal piece of art history and has laid the foundation for art movements and artists alike. Visionaries heavily influenced by the triptych include artists like Salvador Dali, Joan Miro, René Magritte and Max Ernst, to director Guillermo Del Toro, and couturier Alexander McQueen, amongst many others.

The artists in this show have reimagined the triptych in their own voice. Some interpreted a small section of the piece, others a whole panel, or even the overarching theme of the artwork – the scope was wide and varied. The artists have delved deeply into the artwork, the figures, the creatures and all the surreal details.

Participating Artists
Adam Burke / Adrian Landon Brooks / Allison Sommers / Alex Eckman-Lawn / Alex Kuno / Alfred Liu / Annie Owens / Annita Maslov / Ashley Wood / Bill Crisafi / Brackmetal / Brandi Milne / Brad Gray / Charles Schneider / Davor Gromilovic / Ian Ferguson / Jesse Jacobi / Jon Macnair / Kiko Capile /  Lucy Hardie / Medusa Wolf / Meagan ‘Magpie’ Rogers / Moon Patrol / Nathan Reidt / Paul Barnes / Peca / Rhys Cooper / Roby Dwi Antono / Sean Morris / Shag / Sin Eater / Stellar Leuna / Travis Lampe / Yusei Abe

The show presale has been sent to our subscribers. Please contact us for expressions of interest & enquiries.

Artworks will appear below after 5:00pm on Thursday, 4 April 2019.